Feel Good Friday – how to de-stress your teaching

I know, it’s only Thursday, but I would like to share with you something which a friend of mine shared with me.

There has been a recent article circulating Facebook which describes teachers who have experienced colleagues who have cried on the floor. Now I say that is was it says, but I haven’t read it and I don’t want to. It seems like it is an article that will dampen my spirits and bring negativity into my life.

I have spent the first half-term making sure that I am as happy as I am able. I am in a new job, with a new house and a large commute, and keeping stress down has become one of my life goals.

And this is where Feel Good Friday comes in – my teacher friend advised me to make a positive end to the week by phoning a few parents to give some good feedback. Not only does it make the student feel good about their positive behaviour, but it makes the parents feel good and builds better relationships with parents and students.

I recommend trying it – if you feel down or stressed, make a positive call!

Leave a Reply

